Young ESA – SGAC Diversity Scholarship

Description | Award | Competition Guidelines | Schedule | Contact | Past Winners

Young ESA in cooperation with the Space Generation Advisory Council (SGAC) has organised the Young ESA – SGAC Diversity Scholarship. This video/essay competition is a great opportunity for European students and young professionals to share their views on diversity and ESA.



Participants are asked to submit a 1 minute (max) video, their CV and a 1000 word (max) essay.


The video must be focused on answering what diversity means for participants (in a single sentence only) and one of the following questions:

  • How can diversity give ESA a competitive advantage in achieving “Space 4.0 for United Space in Europe”?

  • What can diversity in space do for society today and in preparation for the future?

The video will be judged on content and message, rather than visuals. Applicants should be visible in the video.


The essay must be on the same topic as the video.


The CV must contain a date of birth and a headshot photo.



The winner will receive an award of up to 2500 EUR in order to attend the following events:

The award will include provisions for travel, accommodation, and registration for SGC and IAC.


Competition Guidelines

  1. The language of all submissions must be English.
  2. The video, CV and essay shall be submitted via the Scholarships Submission Page. You will need to be logged in as an SGAC member to access this page -
  3. All submissions must be made by 15 June 2017, 23:59 GMT. Any submissions after the deadline will not be considered.
  4. The scholarship is open for all students and young professionals with a nationality of an ESA Member State or ESA Associate Member State (currently: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom; Canada and Slovenia).
  5. Participants must be SGAC members 35 years of age or younger by 25 September 2017.
  6. Members of the SGAC Executive Office, Executive Council, scholarship organisers, and judges are not eligible for this award.
  7. Winners are required to support the running of SGC, and the SGAC booth at IAC. Examples of tasks could include being the rapporteur of a SGC Working Group, helping with writing a group report or helping at the SGAC booth at IAC.
  8. Winners are required to write a short report describing his or her experience at SGC and IAC which will be showcased on the SGAC newsletter.
  9. The award will be paid out after the congress, and upon fulfilment of all requirements in a suitable manner. It will be paid out not later than 30 days after fulfilment of all responsibilities.
  10. Organisers shall not be responsible in the event that the award winner fails to attend SGC and/or IAC or is unable to under extenuating circumstances; in that case the award offer shall become void.
  11. Organisers shall not be responsible in the event that the award winner cannot obtain any necessary travel documents; if they are required but not obtained, the award offer shall become void.
  12. By submitting an entry, applicants agree to permit the SGAC and Young ESA  organisers to use their names, affiliations, and headshot photo in connection with the scholarship.
  13. Copyright of the submitted videos and essays shall remain with the contestants. However, by submitting an entry all contestants agree that SGAC and other participating organisations are granted non-exclusive reproduction rights regarding all submitted videos and essays. SGAC and/or participating organisations may also present ideas and findings generated by this scholarship at relevant conferences.



Entries accepted: Now!
Submission Deadline: 15 June, 2017 - 23:59 GMT
Winners announced: 30 June, 2017
Space Generation Congress: 21-23 September, 2017
International Astronautical Congress: 25-29 September, 2017



For any questions, please refer to SGAC Competitions Coordinators, Michal Kunes and Nicole Chase (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.).


Past Winners

2016: Angeliki Papadimitriou (Greece)


© 2006-2018   Space Generation Advisory Council  |